Rossini's Last Masterpiece, "Stabat Mater"

Sunday night at 9 on WCRB's Voices, hear the powerfully moving, final major work by Rossini, the "Stabat Mater."

Sunday, September 15, 2019
9:00 PM

Over a decade after he officially retired, Rossini composed his final major work, the Stabat Mater, as a somber dedication to the suffering of the Virgin Mary as she stands by her son on the cross.

ROSSINI Stabat Mater

Carol Vaness, soprano
Cecilia Bartoli, mezzo-soprano
Francisco Araiza, tenor
Ferruccio Furlanetto, bass

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Chorus
Semyon Bychkov, conductor