Classical 99.5 | Classical Radio Boston
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From the Gardner: A Far Cry and Paavali Jumppanen Play Beethoven

Nic Lehoux
Gardner Museum exterior

In two recent concerts from the Calderwood Hall at the Gardner Museum, A Far Cry plays music from the 12th and 21st centuries, and pianist Paavali Jumppanen and violinist Corey Cerovsek play Beethoven.

On the program:

Hildegard von Bingen: O ignis spiritus paracliti (The Origin of Fire)

Osvaldo Golijov: The Dreams and Prayers of Isaac the Blind
     Prelude: Calmo, Sospeso
     I. Agigato
     II. Teneramente
     III. Calmo, Sospeso
     Postlude: Lento
David Krakauer, clarinet

Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet in A minor, Op. 132
    Heiliger Dankgesang

A Far Cry, Chamber Orchestra-In-Residence at the Gardner Museum

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 12, No. 3
   Allegro con spirit
   Adagio con molta espressione
   Rondo: Allegro molto

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata in A Minor, Op. 23
   Andante scherzoso, piu Allegretto
   Allegro molto

Corey Cerovsek, violin; Paavali Jumppanen, piano
More about Jumppanen's role in the museum's acquisition of a new piano

(image courtesy of the Gardner Museum)

This concert is no longer available.