Classical 99.5 | Classical Radio Boston
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Uchida Plays Ravel's Bustling Piano Masterpiece

Mitsuko Uchida
Decca and Justin Pomfrey
Mitsuko Uchida

The superstar pianist plays the brilliant, jazz-tinged Piano Concerto in G in a Boston Symphony concert that also includes Shostakovich's Symphony No. 12, "The Year 1917," led by Andris Nelsons.

Saturday, June 13, 2020
8:00 PM

Encore broadcast from Saturday, November 16, 2019

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons, conductor
Mitsuko Uchida, piano

​This concert is no longer on demand.

Betsy JOLAS Letters from Bachville (American premiere; BSO co-commission)
RAVEL Piano Concerto in G
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 12, The Year 1917

Composer Betsy Jolas talks with WCRB's Brian McCreath about her remarkable childhood in 1920's and 30's Paris, studying with Honegger, Milhaud, and Messiaen, and how Letters from Bachville reflects, as she writes, "the great moments of my Bach memories, but also illustrates the way this music is so often heard today, boiled down to the opening notes of a few famous pieces, then hastily put together for both easy listening and instant interruption."

Andris Nelsons previews Shostakovich's Symphony No. 12: