A Balance of German Titanic Forces

Saturday, November 30, 2019
(encore broadcast Monday, December 9)
8:00 PM

In an all-German program with the BSO, Christian Zacharias is the pianist in Schumann's Introduction and Allegro appassionato, as well as the conductor in Brahms's Serenade No. 2 and Schumann's Symphony No. 4.

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Christian Zacharias, pianist and conductor

BRAHMS Serenade No. 2
SCHUMANN Introduction and Allegro appassionato, for piano and orchestra
SCHUMANN Symphony No. 4

This concert is no longer available on demand.

Christian Zacharias talks with WCRB's Brian McCreath about the rewards of Brahms's Serenade No. 2, the challenges of the dual role of soloist and conductor in Schumann's Introduction and Allegro appasionato, and how Schumann's music transcends his personal challenges: