Classical 99.5 | Classical Radio Boston
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

A Tribute to The Hilliard Ensemble

Marco Borggreve
Hilliard Ensemble

Think “quartet” and great legends come to mind – Guarneri, Juilliard, Cleveland.  Virtually all of them are string quartets.  But you can’t leave out the Hilliard Ensemble – four men’s voices as perfectly matched and musically intimate as any string quartet.  They gave their final performance at the Wigmore Hall in London on Dec. 20, 2014, leaving us amazed at what they’ve done, and grateful for their luminous recordings. Join WCRB's Cathy Fuller for a look back at their amazing career.

On the program:

Ivan Moody - Canticum Canticorum 1: III. Ego Dilecto Meo

Anon. -  Isaias cecinit

Josquin Desprez - Ave Maria

Anon., from the Prague Manuscript -  Magnum Miraculum and  Nobis Est Natus

J.S. Bach - Motet, BWV 225: I. Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied

J.S. Bach -  Partita for Violin Solo No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004: Ciaccona (Transcribed for Violin Solo and Four Voices), with violinist Christoph Poppen

Arvo Pärt -  Summa

Cristobal de Morales -  Parce Mihi Domine, with saxophonist Jan Garbarek

Anon. - There Is No Rose

Anon. -  Lullay, I Saw

This concert is no longer available.