Classical 99.5 | Classical Radio Boston
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

A Tour-de-force Piano Masterpiece with Ohlsson

Garrick Ohlsson
Dario Acosta
Garrick Ohlsson

Saturday, May 18, 2019
8:00 PM

Garrick Ohlsson joins the Boston Symphony Orchestra for Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 1, encapsulating the full spectrum of human expression, and Ken-David Masur leads works by Harbison and Prokofiev.

Encore broadcast from Saturday, October 20, 2018

Ken-David Masur, conductor
Garrick Ohlsson, piano

HARBISON Remembering Gatsby (Foxtrot for Orchestra)
RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 1
PROKOFIEV Excerpts from Romeo and Juliet

Garrick Ohlsson talks about Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 1 with WCRB's Brian McCreath:

Ken-David Masur previews his own arrangement of selections from Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet: