Classical 99.5 | Classical Radio Boston
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

A World Premiere with Anne-Sophie Mutter, Live from Tanglewood

Anne-Sophie Mutter
Bastian Achard
Anne-Sophie Mutter

Saturday, July 24, 2021
8:00 PM

The superstar violinist is the soloist in the world premiere of John Williams’s Violin concerto No. 2, led by the composer, and Andris Nelsons conducts the BSO in 20th- and 21st-century pieces by Copland, Stravinsky, and Jessie Montgomery.

Andris Nelsons and John Williams, conductors
Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin
Robert Sheena, English horn
Thomas Rolfs, trumpet

Jessie MONTGOMERY Starburst
John WILLIAMS Violin Concerto No. 2 (world premiere)
COPLAND Quiet City
STRAVINSKY Suite from The Firebird (1919 version)

Learn more about this concert and listen to interviews at the Tanglewood Learning Institute online.