Esa-Pekka Salonen

In a move that is astonishing much of the classical music world, the San Francisco Symphony (SFS) announced Wednesday that it has appointed Finnish composer and conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen as its next music director, beginning in September 2020.

On the program:

Fugue in G minor, BWV 578 "Little" (arr. Stokowski) - Los Angeles Philharmonic, Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor

Cello Suite No. 1 in G, BWV 1007 - Phoebe Carrai, cello

Cantata BWV 73 Herr, wie du willt, so schick's mit mir (translation) - Yukari Nonoshita, soprano;  Gerd Türk, tenor;  Peter Kooy, bass;  Bach Collegium Japan, Masaaki Suziki, director

Prelude and Fugue in E-flat, BWV 552 "St. Anne" - Los Angeles Philharmonic, Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor

Courtney Lewis conducts Boston's Discovery Ensemble in performances at New England Conservatory's Jordan Hall and Classical New England's Fraser Performance Studio.

On the program:

Ludwig van Beethoven - Leonore Overture No. 2

Esa-Pekka Salonen - Mania
Kacy Clopton, cello

Claude Debussy - Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun

Ludwig van Beethoven - Symphony No. 3 in E-flat, Op. 55 "Eroica"

Aaron Copland - Clarinet Concerto
William R. Hudgins, clarinet

This concert is no longer available.